The Return of the Impulse (Coming Soon to a thought near you)

#JustAThought

So I’m on my way to college, running a lil bit late, so I decide to give my brain the microphone. Surrounded by  middle class men and women involved in their everyday hussle and bussle, the view outside the train simply a blur of time, with my headphones keeping me calm.

Why is it we prefer an impulse feeling to a long-term one?
Is it impatience? Do we have a secret little plan to fuel a desire? Is it because life’s too short? Is it because our mate told us about how they got ‘caught in the moment’ last night? 

Just like you, I struggle with foresight sometimes, then I think hold on. If I’m selling my self short and being outlandish in my behaviour being blind to the effect my decision has on my friends, my family, that girl/boy I’m seeing, that lil kid who looks up to me, my faith, my values… What kind of person does that make me? What kind of person does that make you? Who wants a friend that doesn’t actually consider anyone but them self? Is the kind of friend you are?

Next time your buddy wants to practise what I call ‘YOLOism’, I encourage you to help them help themselves (Don’t condemn though, simply humbly question – The ‘I sin, You sin’ mentality)

#JustAThought …

(May turn this into a page on this BRAND NEW Blog… But there’s no point if I just chat crap. So let me know if you’d support that. Have a blessed day ya’ll because oranges are orange and the sky is blue :s)

Follow me on Twitter @EtimExkluse

2 thoughts on “The Return of the Impulse (Coming Soon to a thought near you)

Leave a Reply

